“Telling the Stories of the Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community”

Skip to content

“Telling the Stories of the Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community”

VIEWS: 849

December 20, 2023

Kimberly Enos Recognized as Employee of the Year at Annual Employee Holiday Luncheon

Video by OAN Reporter Juan Ysaguirre

The Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community celebrated its employees with the annual Employee Holiday Luncheon at the Ballroom at Talking Stick Resort on December 12.

As employees filed into the ballroom, they were treated to a holiday music prelude by jazz trio Lucky Devils Band, who provided the musical entertainment for the day.

SRPMIC Public Works Assistant Facilities Manager Len Andrews began the program with the blessing of the meal, followed by a welcome address by Carla Banuelos, SRPMIC Assistant Community Manager.

“As we come together for this beautiful, festive luncheon, we want to express our heartfelt gratitude for your commitment and hard work,” said Banuelos.

“Without a doubt, the Community is beyond blessed to have such dedicated staff. Let the festivities begin!”

Employees were treated to a delicious buffet-style meal, which included steak, chicken, pasta, potatoes, desserts and more.

The theme of the event was the experience of being in a cinema, with different kinds of movie theater candy and popcorn handed out after the meal.

Both SRPMIC President Martin Harvier and Vice-President Ricardo Leonard delivered holiday messages before the Battle of the Bosses Lip Sync Contest, which featured bosses performing as “Rez Dog Night,” portrayed by Assistant Finance Director Jeremiah Powers and Freddie Mercury of Queen. “Freddie Mercury,” portrayed by SRPMIC Community Manager Bryan Meyers, stole the show and won the audience over.

In between a visit from Santa Claus and games and contests for employees was the presentation of the SRPMIC Employee of the Year.

There were 23 nominees this year: Debra Apodaca (Youth Services), Antonio Arredondo (DOT), Sabrina Ayers Fisher (Defense Advocate), Kandis Balderrama (CRA), Gem Bartsch (HHS), Arial Begay-Smith (Legal Services), Nancy Dedakia (HHS), Kassidy Dickson (HHS), Kimberly Enos (Journey to Recovery), Landon Goodwell (Social Services), Erica Jakupi (SRPD), Glen Law (Administration), Lisa Loya (Education), Arlo Manuel (Public Works), Ricky Martinez (CRA), Cheryl Montano-Lewis (HHS), Gwendlyn Osif (Court), Maegen Partlow (HHS), Adriel Pineda (SRPD), Kevin Pooley (Office of Prosecutor), Tamar Ramos (Administration), Frances Rodriguez (Defense Advocate) and Melissa Sherman (CRA). Each nominee received a gift bag and a $500 prize.

The winner was Kimberly Enos, case manager in the Journey to Recovery (JTR) program.

“Today I want to celebrate a very special person who is a key member of our Journey to Recovery team,” said Department of Health and Human Services Director Joe Remitera in a recorded message.

“Kim has been a member of our team since 2006, when she joined the Community as a transportation driver. But that was just the start in her 17 years [dedicated] to her Community.”

According to her supervisor, Frank Saverino, Enos is always at JTR first thing in the morning with a positive attitude.

“Kim is always willing to come in for extra shifts and volunteer for events,” said Saverino. “If it means helping one of our clients, Kim will always go the extra mile. She is the heartbeat of JTR.”

For her recognition, Enos received a gift bag as well as a $2,000 prize.